Cuisine of Cambodia

 

West Baray grill stall

Don’t forget that Cambodia also has a great deal of delicious roadside grills with fresh fish, fowl, frogs and other interesting stuff

I love the food in Cambodia! I’m no expert or even gourmet hobbyist (although I am very enthusiastic about eating) but I know what I like and I love a lot of Cambodian dishes. Just a couple days ago I stumbled across this article on CNNGo’s travel pages – “10 meals every visitor to Cambodia should try.” I’ve had a lot of the dishes on the list although not every one. My favorites are Amok, Bai sach chrouk (Pork and rice breakfast dish), Lap Khmer and Khmer curry. I’ve never tried Red tree ants with beef and holy basil but I love Cambodian beef and holy basil and I found the lemony taste of tree ants in Australia’s outback to be very nice so I think I’ll put this dish on my things to try on my next trip to Siem Reap.

And don’t forget of course all the roadside grill food that you will come across and which is not mentioned in the article. Many westerners will shy away from these roadside stalls with grill food but I can tell you the chicken and fish is really tasty and I have never had a stomach problem there. I have yet to taste the frog or occasional snake, bird or spiders but I hear tell it all tastes like chicken :)….

(Thinking of visiting the temples of Angkor Wat? Don’t forget to check out my friend Savuth’s tuk tuk services and all the handy information available on Angkortuktuk.)

~ by Leonard on September 20, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
