A family visit – in pictures

Today was spent visiting with my friend Savuth and his family. After three emotional and physically tiring days I am going to let some pictures tell today’s stories (Let’s see, 24 pictures, should be worth about 24,000 words if my math is correct).The drive out there and back also gave me my first chance to see the condition of some nearby countryside.

It was great, albeit tiring, to see the kids again given their enthusiasm for my visits and naturally nearly boundless energy. I always love the food his wife cooks and it was very exciting to see the plot of land Savuth has recently purchased to move his family from tenants to landowners, a status which in a place like Cambodia still means a lot to an individual, his family and the society at large. It was cool when he showed me the sale and registration documents which still bear thumb prints versus signatures as the primary proof of identity. And I discovered today that kids all over the world do love Dr Suess’ “Cat in the Hat” series even if they don’t quite understand the words. I guess my gestures and acting was better than I thought. Maybe a second career on Sesame Street? Enjoy the stories.

October 10 – Family visit

(Thinking of visiting the temples of Angkor Wat? Don’t forget to check out my friend Savuth’s tuk tuk services!)

Originally published on my travelblog Leonard’s Trail.

~ by Leonard on October 10, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
